One of over 200 historical markers on the island, this marker is located at Grace Episcopal Church founded in 1874. The marker was erected in 1967 by the Texas Historical Commission. This is also one of the Gifts of Henry Rosenberg revealed in his will after his death in 1893. Of the original seventeen Rosenberg fountains, only nine still exist. Many of these have been moved to their present sites from other locations on the island. Each fountain bears a unique design.
“Founded 1874 as a mission of Trinity Church. In 1876 became an independent parish under the Rev. Jeremiah Ward, Rector.”
“Dedicated in 1895 by Bishop G. H. Kinsolving, the building was made possible by a request from civic leader Henry Rosenberg. The beautiful hand-carved altar and reredos were gifts of Mrs. Mollie Rosenberg.”
“The Gothic style church was designed in white limestone by Nicholas J. Clayton, architect.”
“Recorded Texas Historic Landmark – 1967”
Henry Rosenberg’s last will & testament provided construction funds for a new church for his parish, Grace Episcopal. Completed in 1895, this beautiful Gothic-style limestone structure replaced the original wooden church building.